Click and Drag Audio Section without converting file

Anything related to Liqube Audio products
Post Reply
User avatar
ExtremRaym
Beta Tester
Posts: 51
Joined: April 12th, 2014, 18:35
Artist Handle: X-Raym
Your primary DAWs: Reaper
Location: France
Contact:

Click and Drag Audio Section without converting file

Hi !

So we can click and drag an audio section, but this create a new file, truncated from the original one.

Video:
Image

Is there a way to drag section without creating new file ?

Thx !

Tom
Liqube Audio
Liqube Audio
Posts: 999
Joined: December 12th, 2012, 19:12
First Name: Tom
Artist Handle: Liqube
Your primary DAWs: Live, Cubase
Location: Over there
Contact:

There isn't.

Since this needs to work universally with all programs the only reliable way to exchange audio and meta data is via a new file which is stored in the "Extracted Audio" folder (Menu / Advanced / Open data folder). Very few programs offer APIs, and when they do these APIs are very limited.

See also: https://resonic.at/docs/audio-extractio ... edia-files
Join our Slack community for chat, testing, and new builds; or our Resonic Users FB group.

A user interface is like a joke: if you have to explain it, it's not that good.

User avatar
ExtremRaym
Beta Tester
Posts: 51
Joined: April 12th, 2014, 18:35
Artist Handle: X-Raym
Your primary DAWs: Reaper
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Click and Drag Audio Section without converting file

@Tom
Ok that makes sense, supporting all different DAW API would be quite difficult, though some software supports some of them :P

For infos it would be possible for REAPER as it is done on SoundMiner:

http://info.soundminer.com/blog/reaper

If you had a lot of reaper users, they could enjoy such feature :P

A temporary fix would be to add metadata to the extracted file with Original file path and in-out timecode. A reaper script could then be made (outside your scope) to replace this extracted file by the original ones if someone really need that feature.

Tom
Liqube Audio
Liqube Audio
Posts: 999
Joined: December 12th, 2012, 19:12
First Name: Tom
Artist Handle: Liqube
Your primary DAWs: Live, Cubase
Location: Over there
Contact:

Re: Click and Drag Audio Section without converting file

ExtremRaym wrote:
April 11th, 2019, 18:21
Ok that makes sense, supporting all different DAW API would be quite difficult
There are no different DAW APIs, really. The ones that exist, like the Reaper one, are public. Anything else is extremely limited or inaccessible (e.g. Steinberg cannot be arsed to respond to a single email.)
For infos it would be possible for REAPER as it is done on SoundMiner:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/resonic ... 265728637/
A temporary fix would be to add metadata to the extracted file with Original file path and in-out timecode. A reaper script could then be made (outside your scope) to replace this extracted file by the original ones if someone really need that feature.
We should Skype or Slack on that.
Join our Slack community for chat, testing, and new builds; or our Resonic Users FB group.

A user interface is like a joke: if you have to explain it, it's not that good.

User avatar
ExtremRaym
Beta Tester
Posts: 51
Joined: April 12th, 2014, 18:35
Artist Handle: X-Raym
Your primary DAWs: Reaper
Location: France
Contact:

We should Skype or Slack on that.
In fact I'm thinking of something even simpler :
Just like there is a "Copy path to clipboard" function, a simple function to "Copy path + in/out points of section into clipboard" (like C:\Desktop\sound.wav 01565 46548) (positions is expressed in samples for maximum precision). It would be even better that what I proposed: the REAPER script would just need to parse these three infos, and no temporary files would be created at all, which will be faster, and will not require any disk space for temporary files.

--
Ok I just watched the Resonic to REAPER video: so in fact you already made this feature ! Is there something missing to it (as it is not in last version ?)

Tom
Liqube Audio
Liqube Audio
Posts: 999
Joined: December 12th, 2012, 19:12
First Name: Tom
Artist Handle: Liqube
Your primary DAWs: Live, Cubase
Location: Over there
Contact:

Re:

ExtremRaym wrote:
April 11th, 2019, 18:46
In fact I'm thinking of something even simpler.
It wouldn't be a problem to copy Reaper-compatible clipboard information, which could directly be pasted into Reaper's timeline, no script needed. Doing that generically on the other hand is a problem. I might unlock an experimental feature in the next build that has no shortcut yet.
Ok I just watched the Resonic to REAPER video: so in fact you already made this feature ! Is there something missing to it (as it is not in last version ?)
Like it says, it's a proof of concept, but working, however we haven't had the time to get back to it yet.
Join our Slack community for chat, testing, and new builds; or our Resonic Users FB group.

A user interface is like a joke: if you have to explain it, it's not that good.

Post Reply