Logitech Media Keys support

Bugs, crash reports, other issues
Post Reply
julianxhokaxhiu
My fingers hurt
Posts: 3
Joined: August 18th, 2017, 10:32
First Name: Julian

Logitech Media Keys support

Hi,

I'm currently using Resonic Player and I really like this player. Although what I deeply miss is the support for the media keys.

I know that the logitech software that comes, has a players.ini file that could be configured ( see https://gist.github.com/julianxhokaxhiu ... e3ab1d7fec )

Can you help me figure out which arguments are required to map correctly the media keys?

Thank you in advance,
Julian

---

SOLUTION:

Add this to your players.ini:

Code: Select all

Resonic=wac,Resonic.exe,ResonicWnd,xxx,xxx,xxx,xxx,xxx,xxx,xxx,0,1,Resonic
and restart your PC ( or the Logitech SetPoint process if you're advanced enough )

Enjoy :)
Last edited by julianxhokaxhiu on August 20th, 2017, 15:10, edited 1 time in total.

Tom
Liqube Audio
Liqube Audio
Posts: 1009
Joined: December 12th, 2012, 19:12
First Name: Tom
Artist Handle: Liqube
Your primary DAWs: Live, Cubase
Location: Over there
Contact:

Re: Logitech Media Keys support

Which keyboard model are you talking about specifically that uses the SetPoint driver?

Resonic currently supports the following standard media keys as global hotkeys:

Code: Select all

VK_BROWSER_BACK
VK_BROWSER_FORWARD
VK_BROWSER_REFRESH
VK_BROWSER_STOP
VK_BROWSER_SEARCH
VK_BROWSER_FAVORITES
VK_BROWSER_HOME
VK_VOLUME_MUTE
VK_VOLUME_DOWN
VK_VOLUME_UP
VK_MEDIA_NEXT_TRACK
VK_MEDIA_PREV_TRACK
VK_MEDIA_STOP
VK_MEDIA_PLAY_PAUSE
VK_LAUNCH_MAIL
VK_LAUNCH_MEDIA_SELECT
VK_LAUNCH_APP1
VK_LAUNCH_APP2
Details here: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/at7ah4df.aspx
Join our Slack community for chat, testing, and new builds; or our Resonic Users FB group.

A user interface is like a joke: if you have to explain it, it's not that good.

julianxhokaxhiu
My fingers hurt
Posts: 3
Joined: August 18th, 2017, 10:32
First Name: Julian

Re: Logitech Media Keys support

Hi Tom,

my current keyboard is MK710 and together with the Logitech SetPoint software, it seems that the player does not work. I see that it supports the standard Virtual keys but I fear that the Logitech SetPoint for some reasons overrides ( or discards them ).

Trying to set the multimedia keys in the Hotkeys panel in Preference anyway, brings nothing. If I press any other key ( ESC or a letter, with Ctrl, Alt, etc. ) then it works fine.

Unfortunately I had the same issue with Google Chrome. I had to manually add those lines in the players.ini file. I'll see if I can find the right values to make it work with Resonic too :) I love this player!

Best regards,
Julian

//EDIT: I think I figured out a possible configuration, but this works only if you bind the basic multimedia commands already as hotkeys to work. I think at the current status they are not set as "Global by default" but you have to manually set them. If you do such a thing inside your code, then inside players.ini you just need to add this:

Code: Select all

Resonic=key,Resonic.exe,ResonicWnd,xxx,xxx,&0xB3,&0xB3,&0xB2,&0xB1,&0xB0,0,1,Resonic
[/s]

//EDIT2: NEVERMIND! I've found a solution! :D

I'll create a Gist on Github for an easy Google research, but long story short, if you want Resonic to be compatible with Logitech SetPoint, add this inside your players.ini:

Code: Select all

Resonic=wac,Resonic.exe,ResonicWnd,xxx,xxx,xxx,xxx,xxx,xxx,xxx,0,1,Resonic
Works out of the box :)

julianxhokaxhiu
My fingers hurt
Posts: 3
Joined: August 18th, 2017, 10:32
First Name: Julian

Re: Logitech Media Keys support

Thread can be closed. Solution found :)

The solution unfortunately works only if the window is living in the Desktop. As long as it gets minimized it doesn't work anymore :( Any idea how this could be fixed?

Post Reply