Sample rate vs. audio drivers

Your thoughts, comments, ideas, suggestions, criticism
quah
I'll think of more soon

Sample rate vs. audio drivers

I just started playing with the alpha this morning. I love some things about the UI and look forward to seeing where this goes...

I play audio files in many encodings, sample rates, and bit depths. One of the key things I want out of a music player is for it to properly set the sample rate of my audio device to the native sample rate of the file that is currently playing, and to never ever resample or allow Windows to resample.

So far my solution has been to use Foobar 2000 and ASIO drivers to feed my RME Fireface audio interface.

Trying out Resonic Alpha 621, I can see that it is NOT setting the sample rate of my audio device. So a 48kHz file is playing at 44.1kHz on the RME Fireface. (I'm not sure if it is being resampled or just played back slowly.)

On a related note, the player should display the sample rate, bit depth, and channel count of the file currently playing.

Thanks!

Tom
Liqube Audio
Liqube Audio
First Name: Tom
Primary DAW: Live

Re: Sample rate vs. audio drivers

Hey there!

Let me cut right to the point :)

Resonic - not Windows - is currently resampling all audio material to 44.1kHz using a pretty good quality SRC, which seemed like the most compatible approach for the alpha version. And even though there'll be a high-resolution SRC option this won't stay like it is now, of course.

Resonic Pro will come with full ASIO support.

However, there's some general problems with opening the sample format as-is:

The most important one being that opening and closing the soundcard on every single play is very expensive and would have a big impact on overall responsiveness.